Postal Delivery: Daily Quotes from Mrs. Gaskell’s Letters – June 20th

January 28, 1863
A lady with the surname of James, whose mother donated a counterpane coverlet

My dear Madam (for you see I am not quite sure if you are Mrs, or Miss James –or else I should be only too glad to address you in the pleasant and friendly way you do to me–)

I have received your letter this morning and I will, thankfully find out some deserving recipient of your kind mother’s counterpane.I have already three of four deserving cases in my mind; and when I have received the counterpane , and quite decided to which of my poor people it ought to go, I will write & give you the full particulars that tour mother may not feel that it has gone vaguely into an indiscriminate quick-sand of distress… Perhaps, if you will allow me, I shall come and see you some day; for I have a friend in Clifton Place (and I fancy Clifton Garden must be somewhere near)….

I remain dear Miss James –(for you see I have decided on your being a Miss James).

Yours very truly,

E. C. Gaskell

Watercolor Painting: Japanese Tree Peony, by Pierre-Joseph Redouté
Source: Gaskell, Elizabeth Cleghorn, J. A. V. Chapple, and Alan Shelston. Further letters of Mrs. Gaskell . Newly updated in pbk. ed. Manchester: Manchester University Press ;, 2003. Print.
Share your thoughts!

