Postal Delivery: Daily Quotes from Mrs. Gaskell’s Letters – June 10th

February 24, 1865
To: John Ruskin, Art Critic

My dear Mr. Ruskin,

…And then again about ‘Cranford.’ I am so much pleased you like it. It is the only one of my own books that I can read again; but whenever I am ailing or ill, I take ‘Cranford’ and– I was going to say ‘enjoy‘ it but that would not be pretty, –laugh over it afresh. And it is true too, for I have seen the cow that wore the grey flannel jacket, and I knew the cat that swallowed the lace…

Painting: Portrait of John Ruskin, William Gersham Collingwood 1897
Source: Gaskell, Elizabeth Cleghorn, J. A. V. Chapple, and Alan Shelston. Further letters of Mrs. Gaskell . Newly updated in pbk. ed. Manchester: Manchester University Press ;, 2003. Print.
2 Comments Add yours

  1. Barbara Kidder says:

    Don’t you feel like you really know Mrs. Gaskell, when you read this! Thank you!

    1. Yes, exactly! 🙂 I’m so glad you feel the same impression.

Share your thoughts!

