Postal Delivery: Daily Quotes from Mrs. Gaskell’s Letters – June 7th

Spring 1856
To: James Nasmyth
Inventor and Engineer, co-founder of Nasmyth, Gaskell and Comapny
His business partner, Holbrook Gaskell, was the cousin of William, Mrs. Gaskell’s husband

My dear Mr. Nasmyth,

I wonder which was the proudest, and ‘pleased’est, Mrs. Nasmyth or I this morning. I settle the question in my own mind thus. She was in perpetual state of pride and pleasedom at having the Artist of Fireside Sketches for her husband; and I made up for such pride not being my permanent state by my vivd & active delight at having that portfolio of beautiful drawings given to me for my very own, & by you.

Fairies, the sketch Mrs Gaskell admires

We look them over & look them over, and can’t agree which we like best. Indeed that’s no wonder for the ‘I’ of this evening can’t agree with the ‘I’ of this afternoon. Mr. Gaskell likes Gatherin’ Sticks best, –has made up his mind slowly but is very faithful. So does Marianne. I cling to the Fairies just now. But how full of thought & fancy they all are!…

Painting: The Alchemist, by James Nasmyth 1834. Christie’s
Source: Gaskell, Elizabeth Cleghorn, J. A. V. Chapple, and Alan Shelston. Further letters of Mrs. Gaskell . Newly updated in pbk. ed. Manchester: Manchester University Press ;, 2003. Print.
One Comment Add yours

  1. Barbara Kidder says:

    What a delightful relationship they must have had; and this is not always so with one’s husband’s business partner, for there is a tension there over which partner is the most irreplacible!
    By reading her letters, you feel that you are getting to know Mrs. Gaskell, personally!
    Thank you!

Share your thoughts!

