Postal Delivery: Daily Quotes from Mrs. Gaskell’s Letters – June 1st

June 12th, 1841
To: John Pierpont, a Unitarian minister

My dear Sir,

When I look at the date of your letter I do indeed feel ashamed to think how long I have been in acknowledging it; and yet like many other things, it has not been for want of good resolutions; for hardly has one single week began since I received it, but I have determined to accomplish my purpose of answering your most welcome letter, and at the close of every week I have blamed myself for my omission. So, I must shelter myself under the plea of the evil spirit of procrastination, bad as that is, rather than let you think it was in any feeling of ingratitude that I have so long delayed thanking you for your most acceptable and long-hoped-for letter…

Painting: Sophia Kramskaya Reading, by Ivan Kramskoy 1863
Source: Gaskell, Elizabeth Cleghorn, J. A. V. Chapple, and Alan Shelston. Further letters of Mrs. Gaskell . Newly updated in pbk. ed. Manchester: Manchester University Press ;, 2003. Print.
Share your thoughts!

