Ruth, Annotations & Analysis: Volume I, May 15th – June 15th

In an era bound by scrupulous rules and female repression, to weave a sympathetic portrait of a young unmarried mother, was not only radical but, in the face of all the criticism that would unquestionably follow, courageous.

Join me and Gaskell Blog’s guest contributor, Kim from Love Letters to the Library, as we bring you a new series of posts, focusing on Elizabeth Gaskell’s second novel, Ruth.

The novel is divided into three volumes; the series will be broken into three intervals, all of which include:

  • Chapter by Chapter Analysis
  • Insightful Annotations
  • Discussion Questions

We very much hope you will join us!

“These are quite new ideas to me,” said Miss Benson coldly. “I think you, Thurstan, are the first person I ever heard rejoicing over the birth of an illegitimate child. It appears to me, I must own, rather questionable morality.”

“I do not rejoice. I have been all this afternoon mourning over the sin which has blighted this young creature; I have been dreading lest, as she recovered consciousness, there should be a return of her despair… once for all, do not accuse me of questionable morality, when I am trying more than ever I did in my life to act as my blessed Lord would have done.”

Series Schedule for Volume I of Ruth

Includes:

May 15th: Welcome

May 18th – 30th: Ch. 1 – 7 Analysis and Annotations

June 1st – 14th: Ch. 8 – 13 Analysis and Annotations

June 15: Katherine & Kim Discuss Volume I

10 Comments Add yours

  1. EllieNYC says:

    This read has been so wonderful, I look forward to the next!

    1. Thanks, Ellie! Glad to have you joining us! 🙂

  2. Selene says:

    I’ll be joining in on this one, I loved the Moorland readalong! I haven’t read Ruth, it’s one of the only Gaskell’s I have left to read. Looking forward to it!

    1. I choose the right novel, then. 😉 Great to have to joining us again Selene. 🙂

  3. Diane says:

    Can’t wait – loved The Moorland Cottage read and Ruth is one of my favorite EG books – count me in!!!

    Kim – thanks for helping out – I look forward to hearing from both you and Katherine

    1. Hello Diane! It will be lovely to hear your thoughts on the novel, especially as it’s your favorite. 🙂

  4. Kim says:

    Thanks, ladies! You are in for a treat with Ruth. I hope that you will come ready to ask questions and tell us about your favorite bits! 🙂

  5. Charla says:

    Oh my goodness! I just finished Ruth last night. You can find my review here: http://booktalkswithcharla.blogspot.com
    It is one of the best books I have ever read!

Share your thoughts!

