Feedback Request for Moorland Cottage Group Read Followers

My Dear Readers,

The Moorland Cottage is my second group read and I would love some constructive feedback to make future group reads better. One thing I will certainly work on is writing the posts well in advance so the read will stay on schedule (blush).

How did you like the chapter summaries, should you like them more concise? with more analysis? more detailed? What types of annotations did you find interesting? Would you enjoy reading guests posts? Between work and life was the pace of the event something that worked for you?

All suggestions, feedback, and constructive criticisms welcome!

Your Gaskell friend,

Katherine

11 Comments Add yours

  1. Diane says:

    I have really loved this group and hope we will continue to finish the book. It seems like our numbers are dropping off but those of us that are left I’m sure will agree with me.
    If we were just reading the schedule was fine but to create all teh summaries and backup material that you have provided does take longer – while I appreciate everything you’ve done (and want it to continue) I find it an overwhelming task – thank you.
    I think the format is great – the summaries are part description and part quitation and point out or emphasize things I had already read.
    The additional material has really been outstanding – the customs of the times, poetry that help expand on the text.
    I’m in to the end – keep up the good work

    1. Thank you, Diane! I’m really grateful for your appreciation and continuous participation. *hugs* 🙂

  2. darby says:

    Even though I am behind, I look forward to all the wonderful updates, and for sure want this to continue. I agree with Diane, I appreciate all that you do Katherine. It is amazing. 🙂 Darby

  3. Kim says:

    You’ve done a wonderful job with the content, Katherine! I love book groups 🙂

    My favorite posts were the “visual tours” and the incidental information like Victorian tea and clothing. The pacing was very good. That’s stuff I never would have taken the time to look for myself. I never felt overwhelmed with reading.

    I think the chapter summaries could have been shorter. I would have preferred more of your own commentary. And perhaps some questions to get a discussion started? It could have just been my lack of time to linger, but I wanted more interaction with others about the book. I’m not sure how feasible it is (probably not very), but a live chat once during a reading would be nice.

    This has been a fun month together and I hope more group reads are coming! (I’d be more than happy to help organize/post!)

    Kim

    1. Thanks, Kim, I’ve sent you an email. 😉

  4. FleurFisher says:

    You have done a wonderful job and although I am reading at a slightly different pace I have enjoyed looking a little forward and a little back, and it has been lovely to see just how much there is to be appreciated in one little novella.

    The incidentals were particularly lovely, and I do appreciate the time and trouble that you have taken.

    1. 🙂 Thank you Fleur, I’m grateful for your participation throughout the event and hope that you’re eye is doing better now.

  5. Michael says:

    Katherine, it was your initial posts which induced me to pick up the book and read, although I’ve galloped on to the end. I had studied Gaskell’s novels over 20 years ago, but had not read her short stories, save for Cranford. I’m glad I have have now commenced that process, as I had forgotten just how she captures the nuances of character and behaviours.
    I really appreciate your efforts to provide a context and summary of the story-line. It is perhaps the Victorian and Gaskellian context which interests me most, although I can see merit in the suggestion of an another to initiate a discussion at some stage, if that is manageable.

    1. Hello Michael, thanks very much for your comment.

      I’m glad the group read helped inspire you to start reading her short stories, I love how you’ve phrased that talent Gaskell has of capturing “the nuances of character and behaviors.”

      Thank you for your suggestion, I’ll see if I can figure a way to set discussions on the next one. And will be sure to include more annotations. 🙂

  6. Summer says:

    I’ve really been enjoying this group read; it is actually my first, a totally new experience for me. Love all your posts; the chapter summaries and annotations, wouldn’t change a thing.
    The pace has just worked fine for me.
    Thanks so much for organising this.

    1. My pleasure, Summer! It’s so nice to read everyone’s comments and thoughts on the book. 🙂 Thanks for your feedback.

Share your thoughts!

