Elizabeth Gaskell’s The Moorland Cottage – Group Read Schedule

Day One – Feb. 1st

  • Background – The Writing and Publishing History
  • Character List
  • A Visual Tour of the Opening Chapter
  • Summary and Thoughts on Chapter One
  • Ch. 1  Visual Annotation of Moorland Flowers

Day Two – Feb. 3rd

  • Summary and Thoughts on Chapters Two and Three
  • Ch. 2 Annotation: Tea with Mrs. Buxton
  • Ch. 3 Annotation: Victorian Schools

Day Three – Feb. 6th

  • Summary and Thoughts on Chapters Four and Five
  • Ch. 4 Annotation: Articled Clerkship
  • Ch. 5 Annotation: Wordsworth’s Poem

Day Four – Feb. 9th

  • Summary and Thoughts on Chapters Six and Seven
  • Ch. 6 Annotation: In Memoriam by: Lord Alfred Tennyson
  • Ch. 7 Annotation: Evenings at Home Volume Collection

Day Five – Feb. 12th

  • Summary and Thoughts on Chapters Eight and Nine
  • Ch. 8 Annotation: Forgery in the Victorian Era
  • Ch. 9 Annotation: Ariel of Shakespeare’s The Tempest

Day Six – Feb. 15th

  • Summary and Thoughts on Chapters Ten and Eleven
  • Ch. 10 Annotation: The Spaniards and Pizarro
  • Ch. 11 Annotation: There’s Rosemary for Remembrance
  • Themes
15 Comments Add yours

  1. This looks like a prefect reading schedule Katherine. Thank you!

  2. bccmee says:

    Looking forward to my first online bookclub! Thanks for setting this up. I’m reading this book on my Kindle. Do we have a hashtag for twitter discussions? You can tweet passages and notes from the Kindle.

    1. Hello Bccmee, glad to have you joining! I’ve set up the hashtag as #readgaskell, thank you for the suggestion. 🙂

  3. Kim says:

    I’m checking out my copy of “The Moorland Cottage” from the library right now! Looks like there is a lot of cool background stuff for me to read here first. Thanks for running this, Katherine. I always thought Gaskell belonged in more reading groups.

    (Just tweeted about this @playsthetart)

  4. Diane says:

    Just saw this and since I have “The Moorland Cottage” on my Kindle I’m in. I love that you have specific reading assignments for each day – although I’m now already behind. I like the idea of tweeting (if I can learn how)

  5. Diane says:

    Now that we have started I have to say that this format is excellent. In the past I would have read through the book and had some impressions. Going a chapet at a time allows me to really take in the detail (and the beautiful annotation you are providing just brings the book to life). I am really enjoying thts experience. Thank you for setting it up.

    1. My pleasure, Diane! I’m so happy that you’re enjoying the group read. 🙂 And that you like the annotations.

Share your thoughts!

