Announcing: Group Read of Elizabeth Gaskell’s The Moorland Cottage

Please join me February 1st through 15th in reading Elizabeth Gaskell’s The Moorland Cottage, the novella that moved Victorian poet, Matthew Arnold, to tears and of which Charlotte Bronte said it:

Finished like an herb — a balsamic herb with healing in its leaves… the little story is fresh, natural, religious. No more need be said.

The basic storyline and characters of Moorland Cottage were used in the BBC’s Cranford Christmas Special, with a few name changes. Peggy (Maggie) and Edward Bell (Browne), William (Frank) Buxton, his father, Mr. Buxton, and Erminia.

Group Read Schedule

Resources

14 Comments Add yours

  1. Iris says:

    This sounds absolutely wonderful! I’m definitely in! Is it okay to use your button on my blog and link back here?

    1. Glad to have you joining, Iris! 🙂 Yes, that’s fine, thank you for helping to spread the word.

  2. so how will the group read work? I’m totally up for it.

    1. I’ll post the full details soon. 🙂 So glad you’ll be joining!

  3. Whitney says:

    What a fantastic thought! I would participate too.

  4. I would love to join in! For anyone that is interested you can find this free for kindle on amazon too. 🙂

  5. Melissa C. says:

    I’d like to join! 🙂

  6. Mary says:

    Great idea! I’d like to join in as well.

  7. Helen says:

    I’d love to participate in this. Thanks!

  8. Selene says:

    Sounds lovely, I love Gaskell, and am happy to have found your blog in my meanderings! I’m in! 😀

  9. FleurFisher says:

    I’m rather late, but if I can find a copy i’ll definitely be reading too.

  10. Alison says:

    count me in:-)

Share your thoughts!

