Gaskell Friday News & Web Round Up

Please join me every other Friday as we review news and blog posts related to the author Elizabeth Gaskell.

Gaskell Blog I’m hosting a Gaskell Reading Challenge, it will be from January to June of 2011, and hope you will consider joining.

Gaskell’s genius for writing lies how she weaves the subtleties of emotions and everyday life into her novels. Admired by contemporaries such as Charles Dickens, George Eliot, and Charlotte Bronte, with whom she was also friends, she was well known in her day and often shocked people by writing the truth …read more.

The Fringe Magazine writes a review of The Cranford Companion

“Packed into the pages are some fine details on how the production of the show occurred, how the detailed costumes were produced and how the sets were designed” …read more.

More of an Idiot Laura shares her thoughts on reading Elizabeth Gaskell’s North and South

“North and South is not simply a romance — it is chock full of debates about gender roles, class conflict, and social justice issues, 19th century style. It’s a very intelligent, thought-provoking, thoroughly enjoyable work. I certainly recommended it for fans of Austen, Dickens, and the Brontes” … read more.

Manchester Literature Festival Blog reports that a Facebook page has been created for Mrs. Gaskell

“Details of all the events held by the Gaskell Society and the Friends of Plymouth Grove. The aim of the page is to promote Elizabeth Gaskell and the house at 84 Plymouth Grove, where she lived when she did most of her writing” … read more.

Onchan Book Group Cath recently posted her thoughts on Gaskell’s Mary Barton

“I found this a powerful and moving novel, with strong characters and a densely written plot. The subject matter reflected the conditions of the period and it is obvious that the author felt very strongly about the terrible and unjust conditions endured by the factory workers and their families” … read more.

Advertisements

Share your thoughts!

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s