An excerpt of North & South & Giveaway of the Novel

Greg Wise, an actor that fellow Jane Austen fans will recognize as Mr. Willoughby from the 1995 Sense & Sensibility, beautifully reads the proposal scene in North & South.

View Here

Enter for a chance to win the novel! Leave a comment on how you were introduced to Elizabeth Gaskell’s work.

For more chances to win

  • Mention this post on Twitter, please be sure to include @coxkatherine
  • Follow me on twitter

Best of luck to everyone!

Details

Penguin Classics edition of North & South.
Open to US Residents only, novel will be sent by post
You must comment by October 11th
Winner announced October 12th

16 Comments Add yours

  1. Felicia says:

    I was introduced to Gaskell’s work after stumbling across the North and South mini series. After watching the series I purchased several of her books, made many wonderful friends from a on-line community. Now she is one of my favorite authors and one of my favorite wonderful role models for women.

  2. Patricia says:

    I was introduced to Elizabeth Gaskell through a friend. After reading _North and South_, my sister and I decided that Gaskell’s story would be a wonderful story to adapt to the stage. This is how _North and South, the Musical_ began. For those of you who love this novel, I highly recommend looking at our website (www.northandsouththemusical) and our Facebook page (North and South, the Musical).

    1. Katherine says:

      Patricia,

      What a wonderful achievement, congratulations! Thank you for the links and for stopping by.

      Best,
      Katherine

  3. ladyofglencairn says:

    I was introduced to North and South via the BBC Classic collection I subscribe to. It arrived via the post and I sat down and watched it not knowing any of the background surrounging Elizabeth or her other novels.

    THE.BEST.THING.THAT.EVER.HAPPENED.TO.ME!!!

    Ive now read all her work and watched all the adaptations. What a wonderful find!

  4. iz4blue says:

    Being introduced to the adaptation I knew I had to read the book and listen to the audiobook. Which in turn made me aware that wives and daughters as well as Cranford were based on books of hers. Since I’ve discovered a community which loves her works and others of that time period and made some wonderful friends because of our shared Foolish Passion. I plan to explore all her works.
    Thank You Elizabeth Gaskell!!

  5. Kaye Dacus says:

    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR POSTING THIS LINK!!! Not only have I reposted it to Facebook, but I’m sending all of my N&S/Elizabeth Gaskell friends over here, too.

    There’s only one thing which would have made this video more perfect—if Richard Armitage were the one reading it. But I love Greg Wise, too. I have an audio book version of Dracula he read, and his voice is mesmerizing.

    Oh, and I already have a copy of the novel—the Norton Critical Edition, in fact—so I don’t need to be entered in the drawing.

    1. Katherine says:

      I’m so glad you enjoyed it, Kaye! 🙂

      Yes, indeed! I’m currently listening to his reading of Georgette Heyer’s Venetia.

  6. I found North and South when researching mills in England for an idea I had for a historical novel. It was instant love. I still go back and read the end over and over again and have read the whole thing twice since then. Love Gaskell!

  7. Sylvia M. says:

    If I remember correctly I was first introduced to Elisabeth Gaskell by watching Wives and Daughters. At the time I didn’t realise who EG was. When I finally had the opportunity of watching N&S I became interested in her and her writing enough to look her up and do a little research. Since that time I have read the book N&S four times (I think). I now own the novels Cranford, Mary Barton, and North and South. If I win this copy of the book I probably will give it to my sister who does not have it already.

  8. Laura Frantz says:

    Awesome blog! Have added you to my blog roll, compliments of Kaye here:) North & South should be a staple for every book lover. I’ve only just recently watched the movie.

    1. Katherine says:

      Thank you for adding me to your blogroll, Laura! I hope you enjoy the posts I have planned. 🙂

  9. Thanks for following me on Twitter! I didn’t know your blog was out here, and I’m thrilled to have found it because of your follow.

    I was introduced to Mrs. Gaskell’s work through the recent Gaskell Birthday Blog Tour sponsored by Austenprose.com. Laurel asked me to participate and I chose to review the miniseries Cranford starring Judi Dench. After seeing this series and learning more about her in the last month or so, I’m definitely a fan!

    I haven’t read any of her work yet, but I’ve downloaded to my PC a free eBook edition of Cranford from Amazon’s Kindle listings. And I’d love to win North and South, as I’ve never read that either.

    Glad to “meet” you and the blog today. And yes, I’m now following you on Twitter, and here’s my tweet:

    Thanks!

    Laura Hartness
    The CalicoCritic
    CalicoCritic at gmail dot com

    1. Katherine says:

      Hello Laura!

      My pleasure! I just launched the blog this week. 🙂 You may know me as November’s Autumn –I too participated in Laurel Ann’s Gaskell tour. 🙂

      Cranford is such a lovely novel as is the adaptation. Judi Dench is the perfect Miss Matty!

      Thank you for following me on Twitter and the tweet regarding the giveaway, best of luck!

      Well Wishes,
      Katherine

  10. Laurel Ann says:

    In 1999 there was chat about a new mini-series on Masterpiece Theater called Wives and Daughters. Gaskell was unknown to me until then. I enjoyed the series so much I named my new kitten Molly!

  11. Annette says:

    I was introduced to Gaskell after watching Wives and Daughters on I believe A&E.

Share your thoughts!

